Going Big but Not going Home

artflow_201702112335

Now that I’ve found my routine and stabilised everything in my life (or tried to), I’m finding it hard to stick to the promises I’ve made. Its even worse when you write it all down and you just can’t tick them off (there’s nothing like ticking off something)

p1330469

So I’ve been bullet journalling for a month now and oh my! Can I just say how much its improved my life … okay that’s a bit dramatic, I sound like a commercial; but in terms of creating goals and actually achieving them or creating good habits, its done absolute wonders! All those years when you would make new years resolutions only to break them 2 weeks in, say no more! Introducing the bullet journal … Haha just kidding.

p1330463
Confused as always

Unfortunately the down side has just been constantly knowing when you’re slipping behind your extremely long to do list or not following through on your habit tracker. I mean its all and well to write down all the things you want to accomplish but when you only have 24 hours in a day sometimes its unrealistic.

p1330500

artflow_201702112323

After countless trial and error, I’ve found that its so important not to put so much pressure on yourself, especially with daily commitments or long term habits such as exercising, blogging weekly or reading everyday. So what if you miss a day? a week? several training sessions?  When negative thinking kicks in I tend to notice I’ve missed a few days, conclude that its hopeless and just give up. But we’re all human and life gets in the way.

p1330502

If you could start anything and just commit to it without trying, then it wouldn’t be a goal that you need to set, if that makes sense. Since this isn’t the case, (if it is for you damn gurl, teach me your ways) I feel like its more important to get back into it whenever you’re ready or when you can spare a second. It really is the thought that counts.

p1330505

But if you never get back into it that’s okay too. Maybe it really wasn’t meant to be. If you wanted to read a book a week but never got back to it then maybe reading isn’t for you. There are always other options like an audible book.

artflow_201702120000

Positive encouragement always gets you further than negative and when you put yourself down for not following through with something, I think its harder to get back onto the path to success. The more you keep working at it, no matter how infrequent or sporadic, your brain will start turning the task into a habit and you’ll eventually find the time to fit these tasks in. Really! don’t be disappointed and instead be proud of yourself for taking the initiative to improve yourself and constantly work at it.

p1330508

Going Big but Not going Home

9 thoughts on “Going Big but Not going Home

  1. I love making lists but I’m not that great at completing them in time 😄 Then I stress out about how I’m not completing them in time which in turn wastes more time. It’s a crappy cycle lol. Perhaps I should start bullet journaling and setting more realistic expectations! It sounds like the adjustment period is worth it 🙂

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

    Like

  2. Ahh I really want to get better about bullet journalling, but I’m too much of a perfectionist sometimes that as soon as I don’t like how it’s turning out, I’m done with that notebook.

    Like

Leave a Reply

